The PlayFinder™

Type of Play
Genre

MenWomenTotal Cast

Dark Matters

$9.00
Qty:
Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa
Apply for Rights
Full Length, Thriller
3 men, 1 woman
Total Cast: 4, Interior
ISBN: 978-0-8222-2218-7
FEE: $80 per performance.
THE STORY: In an isolated house at the edge of a cornfield, in the mountains of Virginia, something almost beyond belief is happening to the Cleary family. When Bridget Cleary goes missing, in the dead of the night, her husband Michael and son, Jeremy, scramble to help Sheriff Richard Egan find her. Then, as suddenly as she vanished, Bridget reappears, talking about strange visitations and otherworldly beings. Is she lying? Or are supernatural forces at work? DARK MATTERS is a suspense thriller about the secrets that hold families together and the terrible truths we sometimes choose to ignore in the people we love.
"…science fiction is virtually off the menu of contemporary playwriting. So give Mr. Aguirre-Sacasa credit for trying to stretch the boundaries of contemporary theater with a little pop-culture fun." —NY Times. "Fans of both The Twilight Zone and The X-Files will find lots to like in DARK MATTERS…Aguirre-Sacasa keeps one's head spinning with all of his story's delicious and sinister possibilities…" —NYTheatre.com. "…a taut thriller, smartly constructed and written…" —CurtainUp. "…absorbing…for all its twists, the play has serious issues at its core." —TheaterMania.com.